Thursday, September 22, 2011

Ruptured Appendix - oh my

Carrie's fourth child, Aiden Kyle, is (was) a whopping 42.4 pounds of 2nd grader last week. Now after a 70 mile ambulance ride to the nearest hospital, midnight surgery for a ruptured appendix, 5 days in the hospital,  and a really long abdominal drain tube for another week, he is but a shadow of himself.
He was a real trooper through all the obstacles...although there was a moment when he heard the surgeon's words, "cut it out" that he freaked! [along with his mom and dad!]
Any way, all is almost well.. the doctor got the abdominal cavity all cleaned out and there is no fever. I have been tasked with 'babysitting' him until they remove the drain and he can return to school.  Even through the bandages, he has been great and aren't I the luckiest person in the world!!!
It is good to be able to help Carrie with the kids.  A normal day is a struggle so you can imagine what this has done.
Everyone looks like they need a good long 24 hour extra nap...including sister and  2 brothers, Great Aunt and Uncle, Robert and Julia, Granddaddy, me, and of course Carrie.  On top of all this commotion, we are having a stomach virus going around.

The last couple of months have been really busy...Charles fell and broke 2-3 ribs..self diagnosed  because he won't go to the doctor.  Don't waste too much sympathy tho... he fell on the first day of the fishing trip but didn't come home until they had the best 3-4 days of successful fishing...welll give hime some sympathy because he never ever complains about pain... not like me for sure.  I have actually been cooking meals for him....not to worry...no fires!

So school started without me. dammit! I am not even missed :-( I planned on being on an out of state trip or being really involved in something else but that did not work out.  I ended up with 2 weeks of bed rest due to a bad infection in my bad leg...just like a damn old person watching the clock and hoping for something...shit...shit...shit...

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

laundry

so I'm really excited.
We got a new washer and dryer installed yesterday. They are red. (the red ones were almost $500 cheaper than the grey or white ones....) I know why now. Every time I open the laundry closet my heart skips a beat..they are REALLY red and shiny! I mean really, really red...like slut red.
I was thinking it would help me.  When we built our house, I asked for red kitchen countertops. You see I have had a couple of kitchen fires in my life and was thinking that the red would perk me up and keep me paying attention. That proved to be invalid since I have had a couple more fires (or other catastrophies) since them.  It is safe to say that me and kitchens do not get along!

Well, back to the laundry closet. We have no white clothes or anything.  Either I cause them to take on a new color (dull brown) or our dirty water does it.  I am hoping that having red appliances will keep me more alert and remind me to use a color catcher thingee.  I still have not turned them on yet because I made sure all my laundry and ironing was complete and up to date... damn. I have even read the manuals twice so I would know what to do and how to do it.  I am seriously considering yanking some sheets off of a bed just so I have something to wash and steam dry. 

its sad how my life has changed...sitting here staring at a washer and dryer.  D.A.